Latest Google Update: Google Drive will Stop Syncing Google Photos from July
Google Drive has been the all-in-one storage solution for a long time. Here, we can collect all type of office files and Google Docs and photos and files of all varieties. But with the new update, from 10 July Google Photos will no longer sync to Google Drive. In other words, Google is going to uncouple Google Photos from Google Drive, and the two storage services will stop automatically keeping each other’s photos in sync.
In the last few years, Google Drive has worked and come up with excellent solutions to manage our photos securely stowed and accessible in both apps. Now, it has come up with its latest version of the Google Drive app, under which Google Photos sync integration appears to be stopping.
What will Change?
When, Google Photos do not sync to Google Drive, if you add or delete files in Photos, they won’t be automatically added or deleted in Drive.
What Google Says
Google says that users were confused by the link between Photos and Drive. The update is aimed at supporting “prevent unintentional deletions of items across the platform.” For example, earlier, some users were confused about the fact that removing a copy of a photo in Photos also means that the picture is deleted in Drive, and vice versa. We are expecting this simplified experience is simpler for users to understand and operate.
What about the already Uploaded Images
You do not need to worry about the photographs that you have uploaded to Google Drive or Google Photos prior to the change. They will remain on both services, but will no longer update automatically. Just like new files, that also means if you wish to delete those photos, you will have to remove them from both sources.
Alternative after the Update
With this new update, Google is also offering a feature called “Upload from Drive”. It will be accessible in Google Photos and permit users to manually pick which photos and videos from Drive they want to import into Google Photos. The content imported by this method will be available individually across both products and without any link between them. It means that the items copied in the Original Quality option will remain to be counted towards your existing storage quota in Google Drive and Photos.
The update is going to be controversial. Photos automatically syncs to Google Drive is a favourite feature for many people as it makes it very easy to organize photos. But Of course, the change will avoid some confusion. With this new update, company is focusing on clear up any confusion between the two services. Presently, Google Photos automatically syncs its contents to Google Drive. The removal of this feature will allow for granular control when managing content across both Drive and Photos.